Dominique James, Photographer

It's all about the pictures …

To receive, and also to give …

leave a comment »

This is an unabashed open letter of appreciation, a love letter if you will, to my online friends:

You, my online friends, many of whom I happen to personally know offline, are truly, truly amazing! You make me want to always hit up Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and the rest of digital social spaces where you and I are connected.

Despite what many might consider to be a magnificent waste of time going through endless posts, the next best thing to actually being around friends like you is to go through what you share online.

I really do take the time to look at your posts. I marvel at them. I am always eager to read your status updates, to see your pictures and to watch your videos. I enjoy finding out about the extraordinary things you’re doing, the wonderful places you went to, the interesting stuff you bought, the cool fashion you wore, the amazing food you ate, the thirst-quenching beverages you drank, the myriad of emotions you felt, the ideas you espouse or debate, and in between, all the other fascinating posts you re-share. I become one with you—in the joys of your celebrations, in the triumphs of your accomplishments, in the agony of your defeats, and in the pangs of your sorrows; in the wistful throwbacks of your yesterdays, in the measured, descriptive states of your todays, in the bright multicolored hopes of your tomorrows. Though separated by distance and time, and even if only through the prism of your selective online narratives, I do appreciate your in trust me, enough to be shared with, encompassed in your cultivated online circle. I marvel whenever you freely share whatever about you.

Because I am inspired by your thoughtful sharing, in turn I want to do the same. As you have shared, I too, want to share.

For quite some time now, I’ve been privileged to have been able to show you some of my pictures, among other things, and I can only hope to show and share more.

The way I see it, each picture I put up encapsulates a facet of my experiences too. I’m sharing my pictures because I feel it’s the best I know how to do online. I’m not good at jokes. I’m not good at memes. I’m not good at much of most other stuff. But I’m really all about pictures, and I hope you like them.

And so, for all the sharing that’s going on all around, from you to me and from me to you, I thank you!

P.S. I now share pictures mostly at http://www.dominiquejames.com, and I announce new stuff through my newsletter at http://eepurl.com/PPYpT.

Written by dominiquejames

March 6, 2014 at 4:16 PM

Leave a Reply

